Lectures and Excursions

The group holds meetings and talks at Hanson’s cement works near Clitheroe.

The dates and times of which will be posted on this page

Winter Program 2017-2018

October 13James Carter,MSc.
Senior Engineering Geologist , Wardell Armstrong
British earthquakes/aspects of geology of Cyprus
November 3Paul KabrnaGeology of Anglesey
December 1Pds/members evening
January 26AGM and Pds/members evening
February (TBC)Tony FranceBurnley coalfield
March (TBC)Leslie Collins N.W. Highlands Geopark
April 27Dr. Chris DuffinLate Jurassic Lagoonal Limestones of Solnhofen, Bavaria

October 25th.     A Lancaster Building Stone walk is planned and the group should meet at the “Park and Ride” bus station (parking fee is £1 all day) in time to catch the 09:50 bus, bring a packed lunch or use one of the many cafés for the lunch break.

There will be a Field excursion on the 28th of April 2018 led by PdS,

Venue to be confirmed


James Carter M Sc

James is involved in the National Grid project to bring electricity from the proposed new nuclear power station at Windscale across Morecambe bay. He is not at liberty to discuss details of this project but will talk about earthquake risk in the UK and/or about the engineering geology of a project to construct a road in Cyprus.


Tony France

Tony was a senior geologist working for the National Coal Board and has an encyclopaedic  knowledge of the Lancashire coalfield.


Dr. Chris Duffin

Chris was a Senior Master ar Streatham High School in S. London and Clapham High School in S. London.

He has a Ph.D. in Vertebrate Palaeontology from UCL.

He has published over 160 papers on a wide range of fossil groups, but is particularly concerned with sharks and their allies. He co-authored the Handbook of Paleoichthyology Volume 3D. Chondrichthyes. Paleozoic Elasmobranchii: Teeth (2010, Friedrich Pfeil Veriag).

He is the leading author of Special Publication 375 of the Geological Society-” A History of Geology and Medicine” (Duffin, Moody & Garner-Thorpe 2013).

He received the Paleonological Association’s Mary Anning Award for outstanding contributions to paleontology in 2011


Summer Field Excursions to date

Dates for field trips for the early part of summer…more to follow as dates are confirmed

Date                                                   Location                                                   Leader/s

28th April                       The coal measures of  Todmorden Moor                               Peter del Strother

Following the Todmorden Moor Geology and Heritage trail. Boots, waterproof clothing and a packed lunch will be required.

8th May                           Trowbarrow and Keer                                                                Barbara Gordon & Peter del Strother

In association with Manchester Geological Association will be looking at the Silverdale disturbance at Trowbarrow quarry and an igneous site near Carnforth. All walking is easy, no hills and less than one kilometre at each site

19th June                                            Llangollen                                                                   Peter del Strother


24th July                                     Crummackdale                                                Barbara Gordon & Peter del Strother


2nd August                                      Knaresborough                                                                  Lesley Collins

Times and other details to follow